jump to navigation

Morpheus a.k.a Prof. Sunil Handa October 25, 2010

Posted by Karan in IIM Indore.
trackback

“Tumhare professor yahan baithe hai, but even then I say.. Woh business shuru nahi kar raha kyuki uski phat ti hai”

The sentence probably captures the spirit of what Prof. Sunil Handa was trying to convey.

There are times in life when you are down and out. There are other such times when life just goes on, with that spark or the X-factor missing. At such times, you need an inspiration, an angel, and a stimulus. You need an initiative, some of those trillions of neuron fibres activated. You need vitality about life; you need to add that jazz. In short, you need a Sunil Handa.

Prof Sunil Handa spoke about basic things- but stuff which was reinforced in a striking way. For example, he gave an instance of a salesman trying to sell a product for Rs. X, while the customer said, “Bahut mehenga hai”. Prof. Handa defined a good salesman as the one who does not give up and say, “Abe tu ruk, 10 minute aur is product ke bare mein gun gaan gaata hoon, gaatha sonata hoon.. Aur tab tu yeh product kharidega”. This example had the audience wishing for a marketing professor like him!

There were these numerous instances of Prof. Handa speaking about his students, peers, colleagues, employees. All of these stories had something to tell you, something to motivate. He inspired, mocked, pleaded, forced and did what not to drive home one point- “You are the maker of your own destiny. Do you have the bloody guts to take up something of your own?” He even shattered myths by proving that getting trapped in the matrix of being an employee is far more risky that being an entrepreneur or a businessman.

The way Prof Handa connected, interacted with the audience was fascinating. I mean, it’s not every day that the audience wanted more even after four hours- today was one such day. How I’ve wanted more such days during my stay at Indore!

Personally, after all the frustrations of the last few days, this was a morale booster, warm hot chocolate for the soul. Thank you Prof. Handa!

I’d like to finish off by saying something which Prof Handa reinforced in a beautiful way, “The day someone comes and tells me that your son is a boy of gold, I shall be happy to die! Remember that this is the only thing which every mother wants from you. And this cannot be achieved by doing a bloody job.”

I could see tears in the eyes of the audience after this narration.

Comments»

1. sandeep yerra - October 25, 2010

yup.. bloody good session.. the calculation he did that u will just be able to buy a flat after 10 odd years.. too good.. a true maverick of entrepreneurship… nice post btw 🙂

Karan - October 27, 2010

Thanks 🙂

2. Aniket - October 25, 2010

Good to see that your overflowed emotions still find their way to this blog, just like so many of their predecessors.

True, it’s good to have people like this around you. This is one thing I sorely miss in corporate where all people do is to do a ‘bloody job’.

Atb for the future! 🙂

Karan - October 27, 2010

Thanks man. Hows your job going- Frankly Aniket, you should have heard him talk. You, of all people, would have loved it

3. Raghav Joshi - October 26, 2010

nice Maroo! good article

Karan - October 27, 2010

Thanks Joshi!

4. Kunal - October 27, 2010

Sounds amazing.. Any videos of this talk that can be posted online?

Being stuck in a “bloody job” I can spend time to watch the video 🙂

Karan - October 27, 2010

I’ll certainly look for videos, and post them 🙂

5. Ankit Doshi - October 28, 2010

Such posts just make me more jealous ……..anyway I’m happy my batch and the junior batch finally got the taste of Handa Sir

Karan - October 30, 2010

Seriously man, you were the first person who came to mind as to someone who is missing it.

6. Ankit Doshi - October 30, 2010

But then Karan. of all people maybe I need it the least 😛

anyway, I have met him personally before and plan to meet him again once I am in India

7. vidya sagar - January 18, 2011

I am Vidya Sagar, presently persuing my B.Tech at IIT-Madras. I am the Coordinator for the Events team, C-TIDES, the Entrepreneurship Cell of IIT- Madras. I have gone through many blogs and i am really Impressed by the inspiring lectures delivered by Prof. Sunil Handa. As a part of Genesis, The Social Bussiness Plan Competition of C-TIDES,the Entrepreneurship Cell of IIT-Madras. we have a series of lectures to be held and we would like to invite Prof. Handa.;It would be of great use if any one could provide the contact details of Prof.Hunda (email Id if possible) – or atleast direct me the way to contact him.
Waiting for a sooner response… please respond to : vidyasagarranganaboina@gmail.com

8. learningalotsumit - January 3, 2012

Hii, I am Sumit agarwal, B.Tech frm privae college. I am working with hcl infosystesm ltd. rightnw. I am preparing for CAT also.. I want to do something different. i have my own ideas, doing research work on my project. but i am not much confident abt cracking a cat examination.. need your advice folks…

9. learningalotsumit - January 3, 2012

ooh i forgot to say…. I am very much impressed abt “Sunil Handa” sir. I read many blogs related to him, read his story in stay hungry,stay foolish…

10. http://yilin7412.pixnet.net/ - April 26, 2013

Hi there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
I’m confident they will be benefited from this site.


Leave a Reply

