jump to navigation

Happy Birthday IIIT! September 2, 2009

Posted by Karan in Uncategorized.
trackback

Thanks to Himank, I got myself to writing this post. First things first- Happy birthday IIIT-H. Just like the Indian economy, it’s that stage of the life cycle of IIIT where it is growing really fast. And for the growth to be really meaningful, the efforts need to put in to take the institute to another level.

For me, the most important thing which has to change is the work culture of the students. Be it assignments, academics, Felicity or a general attitude towards anything – we are far too lethargic and laid back. Except for the last few days in the lead up to Felicity and Placements, we refuse to put in meaningful work. Even when we do for a few occasions, the effort is hardly structured. For us to really reach the next level, we need a change – a change in a lot of ways things are done in college. And for that, a new work culture needs to brought in.

Comparing IIIT with IIM Indore, two institutes which started around the same time, there is a fair bit of difference when it comes to processes and functionalities in the student body. Even given the point that things are expected to be better in IIM-I with the virtue of it being a part of a premier brand name, IIIT can do much better. This, especially considering the fact that the quality of students is quite high in IIIT, probably matching the standards here. There is so much potential among the students- all of that can be harnessed with some effort in changing the work culture.

If there is one wish for IIIT I have, it is certainly this.

Meanwhile, I really miss a few things from undergraduate days- prime among them is the camaraderie with my batch mates. This of course, includes my circle of friends, but also the others. The next thing I miss is the culture of the place. I so disagree with one of my professors when he says that we don’t have a culture in IIIT. I think we do, and I feel it all the more when I’m away from the college. Take for example, the kind of discussions we would have in the corridors of the hostel. And finally, though I’ve spoken about the work culture, I do sometimes miss the laid back days of old! All the times when I’d just hang out in my pals’ rooms.

PS: It’s a new life here in IIM Indore, and I’ve gotten used to it. It’s just that after the chat with Himank today, I couldn’t help but feel nostalgic.

Love you IIIT!

Comments»

1. Himank - September 3, 2009

was coming back from a trip to DLF and was wondering whether you would have written the post or not 🙂
🙂

Karan - September 3, 2009

You ask me, and I don’t write. Not possible, isin’t it 🙂

2. Manish - September 3, 2009

yaar.. mere muh ki baat chhin li..
Ambience does effect a lot.

3. Vipul - September 3, 2009

i was waiting so long 4 a post and finally got this one 🙂 Even though i’m still in college, its all different and nothig is even comparable to what it used to be, the post made me nostalgic 😦
This comment might seem to be out of context 4 this post but the last paragraph made me feel so 😦 Miss those wing bc’s ……

Long live IIIT 🙂

4. Abhijeet - September 3, 2009

The very fact that every activity in your (present)college is getting-a-good-placement driven (as you put it) makes it sad. And that explains the lethargy in IIIT probably where people, though more laid-back, are more open to pursue what they want to and not do everything from a job perspective.

5. Kshitij - September 3, 2009

One of our professor’s quote “We must not always see what we lack, but what we have gained”. I agree with you when you say that the students here have the potential to take the activities (whatsoever) to a completely different level, but I would also say that we should not ignore the efforts made by the students in past. What we were and what we are needs to be evaluated. I would not want to comment on the difference in cultures of your institute and mine (kidding :P), but there is a marked difference in the kind of crowd, which should be taken into account while evaluating. IIIT-H has always believed in giving independence to students. I am still surprised to see how the college allows second years to handle events as heavy as the freshers, and they are free to organise it as per their choice. Along with such a system, comes the system of ‘make mistakes and learn’, which has got its own pros and cons. Anyway, if I start writing, we both will get into the same old debates we used to have in our wing and the nostalgia will get over me too. It’ll great if you come over to the college, meet with the parliament core committee (a new committee of the parliament) and along with them brainstorm on how viable the changes are and how can they be actualised.

6. Sambhav - September 4, 2009

I see the achievement in doing the things on your own, figuring out local solution, carefully planning the small budget etc etc,… falling – learning – improving.

An achievement, being a part Culture-Makers that may be known as IIIT culture. Its more like giving a hand in shaping a wet mold which down the timeline will be a sculpture reflecting your thoughts,deeds and effort.

@Kshitij: Nice to hear

7. krishna kanth - March 27, 2011

wonder, if you can compare undergrad curriculum with that of a post grad. undergrad years are meant for getting ready to face the world to achieve something. You cant expect n should not expect to be professional at that age.


Leave a Reply

