jump to navigation

Adieu May 21, 2009

Posted by Karan in General.
trackback

As I walked along the hostel wing, it seemed to echo with eerie silence. As I trod out of it towards the mess, I noticed that I walked alone for the first time. There was no pillion rider in the bike I rode, I drank my coffee all alone.

Getting the no-dues certificate signed seemed like stoking nails into the coffin. When asked to submit the identification card, I did not want to let go. This same card had accompanied me for four years, getting me a safe passage at unearthly hours and places.

And then there were the little gifts, and the memorabilia unearthened while packing. The ICL tickets, the placement lists, the Felicity posters, the ragging letter, the lost pen drive.. They were all there. Each of them had a story to tell. Each of them was screaming for attention, for those lost memories.

The memories which bound us together, the memories which will stay, come what may. So what if we cannot be together, the spirit lives on. Ten years down the line, when I walk into this place, it will welcome me as if I’d never left. Because this place belongs to me and I belong to this place. A piece of me will be here forever.

Such a bitter sweet symphony is life, isn’t it?

Comments»

1. apple - May 21, 2009

A really really touching post man!!

Also the day before yesterday when you were gone, I was going to drink water and as usual, I stepped into your wing. Whenever I came across your wing, there was always some noise, Bhalu shouting something or Chand’s explanations or cricket hungama and all. But that day everything was very silent. Even the lights in the wing were put off. The wing seemed very strange.

I was very happy to see you online today morning. Gtalk makes me feel connected!! πŸ™‚

2. Nicky - May 21, 2009

Wow! You actually have a heart beneath all that steel.

Just kidding. Very touching stuff man!

Well, a new campus awaits you – you aren’t saying bye bye to college life – so something to look forward to! πŸ™‚

3. Prashant Mathur - May 21, 2009

will miss you alwayz bhai …

4. Abheet - May 22, 2009

very touching…
feels like.. it just happened yesterday to me..!!

5. Devansh Mittal - May 22, 2009

Very nice!
Nice description of feelings. I will also miss you all when I come to campus next. Be in touch.

6. Aniket - May 22, 2009

I wanna howl like a kid now… maybe it’ll get me back into those times.

7. Pranav - May 23, 2009

Have a great time ahead, Karan!

8. harshita - May 24, 2009

😦 😦 very very touching….i ll miss u guys badly 😦 😦 …

9. Amit - May 25, 2009

Sometimes I like to miss things,small smiles which come when you remember all the things you described above costs millions.
Nice post Mr. President…:)

10. aakanksha - May 25, 2009

Very well written. =)
Damn! It heightens the my-clock-is-ticking feeling! It doesn’t feel like a 4th year yet! =/

11. Himank - May 27, 2009

FUck man.. just read few lines n cudnt complete it!! 😐 Dont have it in me to be senti ryt now 😦

12. Vipul - June 13, 2009

Touchin 2 da core … asshole ur post made me senti AGAIN :-X …. its the similar feeling now … no one in the wing 😦 … all alone 😦 .. no more bhalus to irritate me or chands to show off their bodies or maroos to inspire and go out 4 brkfst with or manishs to dance with … not even mathurs to get themselves “chopped” every now n then … its a very bad feeling and really really hard to live with 😦

@Apple : Yo man Gtalk roxxx πŸ™‚

Be in touch always πŸ™‚ … will visit u soon in Indore πŸ™‚

13. Ashita - March 18, 2010

this one made me cry! πŸ™‚

14. Abhijeet - March 9, 2011

Wow I missed this one. But, “I was there” πŸ™‚
Have a good life ahead(again). Wishes!

15. Manish Arora - March 9, 2011

i missed it too … u made me senti all over again bugger … neway, all the best πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

