jump to navigation

Five Things About The IPL That Caught My Attention May 30, 2008

Posted by Karan in Uncategorized.
trackback

Here’s one more post on… what else, but the IPL. Prasant Gopal had tagged me quite some time back on this. However, I wanted to put off writing on the same till the IPL reached its concluding stages. So, here I go on the five best things I’ve liked about the IPL:

1) Manpreet Gony, Shikhar Dhawan, Amit Mishra, Yomahesh, Yusuf Pathan, Dhaval Kulkarni. Do you ever remember going to watch a Ranji match? But for the IPL, we wouldn’t have possibly seen these colourful players on the circuit. The tournament has given a lot of opportunities and a taste of the big stage to the rookies. And I dare say, a lot of them are ready to give the current crop of Indian players a run for their money.
2) Half the people in the country seemed to be supporting the Mumbai Indians– and the reason? Yes, you guessed it right- It was being led by God. Every single Mumbai Indian player said that he was lucky to be playing under God. Every single fan in Mumbai was screaming for God to score in every match that he played. Fans in Jaipur were more concerned with God scoring than their team picking up wickets. Take a bow Sachin Tendulkar- the major reason why most Indians are glued to cricket.
3) My sister and female friends support the KKR. My aunt supports the CSK. Corporates run live matches. 50 matches have had more than 80% attendance. The TRP ratings have crossed the eight mark, pushing Panchvi Paas, Saas bahu sagas into oblivion. The support the IPL ahs got has been mind numbing.
4) It’s been weird to see some real dome strategizing by stalwarts like Rahul Dravid and VVS Laxman. Rahul Dravid and Mallya put up a dumb test team for the T20 (Though a lot of fans hate Mallya now, especially after his outbursts against Dravid). Must admit that Dravid was good though. Guess he’s made a case for his re-selection in the ODI team.
5) Harbhajan Singh is a total jackass. Need I say anything more? I support Murali Kartik or Amit Mishra getting a chance in the team ahead of the Turbunator.

There are other things like the IPL becoming a regular feature in my daily life, Shane Warne, Sanath Jayasuriya, Glenn McGrath etc, but I guess the tag doesn’t allow me to write more than the five points. And before signing off, here’s wishing Rajasthan the best of luck and here’s hoping that Mohali kicks Chennai’s ass (Oh, forgot to mention. Am mainly against Chennai because of Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s attitude towards seniors)

I tag everyone on my blogroll who hasn’t been tagged as yet.

Comments»

1. Harsh - May 30, 2008

im disliking dhoni for his indulgence (or over indulgence) in style maaroing. the guy has suffering from serious attitude problem. hats off to sachin for keeping his feet on the ground and being humble despite so much of attention all these years.
i think punjab will win the tournament. marsh seems unstoppable.

2. rohitbharadwajg - May 30, 2008

yeah IPL is huge hit…. 🙂

and Dhoni is showing his attitude quite a lot… but its human tendency 🙂

he is not like the God sachin not to show any kind of attitude 😉

My support is for punjab team though i didnt like yuvi’s attitude in the match against MI

3. Kunal - May 30, 2008

nice compilation… for me the best thing has been bringing the talent to fore…. let me add some more names – Dinda, Asnodkar, Siddharth Trivedi….

I don’t know whether is IPL is good or bad for Cricket on the whole in long term, but right now I feel it is good…. I just hope players give preference to their countries, and then their respective clubs… hope this not go on the lines of Club Football …

4. manish jha - May 30, 2008

nice nd absorbing blog…jus lyk our own desi IPL… 🙂 ..

but jus wonderin over being so judgmental abt Dhoni…..isn’t Ganguly revered for this attitude ..though in a miniature form…which pulled India from a faltered show of routine cricket to a team of conviction and strength…

well but den d fact is dat Dhoni is jus deliverin wat all d cric enthus r cravin 4…D Victory..nd den jus Bcoz he had 2 stand in face of ever pervasive favoritism of individual legends doesn’t make him an errant captain so easily….

not sorta advocatin Dhoni or smthing..bt guys jus wait 4 smtym till u learn not 2 miss these legends nymore …and heapin victory non the less at d same tym…. 😉 ..nd dis is most imp…aint it..

btw I can C IPL trophy goin 2 delhi.. 😀

5. Manish Agarwal - May 30, 2008

First of all thnks for supporting Rajasthan Royals:)Truly they deserve the trophy.nd yeah Sachin is God nd only becaz of him I supported MI against Rajasthan even I am a Rajasthani;)

6. obelix - May 30, 2008

dravid played fairly well – best of the old icon players i feel – given that his team did not really perform anywhere close to what it should have done

7. mythalez - May 30, 2008

my points abt ipl:

1. too many matches
2. hyd dc sucked so badly :O after all the hype and star payments
3. blore rc sucked as expected 😛
4. did i mention too many matches?
5. blah 😀 i dont care abt ipl … seems a bit farcical 😛

8. Himank - May 31, 2008

Hmmm… Well I guess all the people to look out have been mentioned by you and then Kunal…
About the MI… It was more than evident.. Nothing greater than God in India…
Btw I will support Bhajji for the team.. Not Murali Karthik or Amit Mishra.. amazed why you didnt mention Piyush Chawla…

9. Indian Premier League - IPL » Five Things About The IPL That Caught My Attention - June 1, 2008

[…] Five Things About The IPL That Caught My Attention Here’s one more post on… what else, but the IPL. Prasant Gopal had tagged me quite some time back on this. However, I wanted to put off writing on the same till the IPL reached its concluding stages. So, here I go on the five best things I’ve liked about the IPL: 1) Manpreet Gony, Shikhar … […]

10. Karan - June 7, 2008

@ Harsh, Well he was stopped 🙂
@ Kunal, coudn’t agree more with that!
@ Jha. My personal opinion dude. Just for the record, I’m a Ganguly-hater!
@ Obleix. Totally agree 🙂
@ Mythalez.. You should have been in India to see the amount of craze invoked by the IPL here 😀
@ Himank.. I dont like Chawla, he doesn’t spin the ball enough.


Leave a Reply

