jump to navigation

My favourite guitar solos March 17, 2008

Posted by Karan in General.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Ever since I’ve started listening to rock, the guitar’s been a fascinating instrument. The feeling of the same gives you a high.. It’s something for all moods. Sometime back, rock guru Aditya had come up with a list of divine solos. Here I am with a list of my favorite solos. Now since this is my list, the choices might be a little different. However, I’m not trying to write a comprehensive, popular top fifteen list.

1) For the love of God- Steve Vai
2) Crystal Planet- Joe Satriani
3) November Rain- Slash (Guns n Roses)
4) Stairway to Heaven- Jimmy Page (Led Zeppelin)
5) Comfortably numb- David Gilmour (Pink Floyd)
6) One – Kirk Hammett (Metallica)
7) While My Guitar Gently Weeps – Eric Clapton (The Beatles)
8) Circles- Joe Satriani
9) Smells like Teen Spirit- Kurt Cobain (Nirvana)
10) Aqualung- Martin Barre (Jethro Tull)
11) All along the watchtower- Jimi Hendrix
12) Whole Lotta Love- Jimmy Page (Led Zeppelin)
13) Bohemian Rhapsody- Brian Mary (Queen)
14) Wanted Dead or Alive- Richie Sambora (Bon Jovi)
15) Smoke On The Water – Ritchie Blackmore (Deep Purple)

I know it might be a bit of a weird list, but well.. Just felt like putting it down. 🙂

Comments»

1. aniket - March 18, 2008

Nice! Even I love the small guitar solo of Smoke on the Water, but I never thought I’d see it on any such list 🙂

2. playboi - March 18, 2008

have you heard cliffs of dover, little wing, summer song ?

3. Karan - March 18, 2008

@aniket 🙂
@playboi Yeah, Summer song would have just missed out. Cliffs of dover is good too.. Haven’t tried little wing though

4. aditya - March 18, 2008

havent heard circles….
no hendrix and clapton???
apart from satriani and smoke on the water… the list seems to be heavily influenced by the top 40 of “top 100 rock guitar solos” compilation 😀
nice anyways… (pretty much like a similar post of mine)

5. Karan - March 18, 2008

@Aditya, clapton and hendrix are there on number 7 and 11 respectively 🙂

6. aditya - March 18, 2008

forgot that clapton played the lead on “while my guitar gently weeps” 🙂

7. Devansh Mittal - March 18, 2008

हम गांव वालों के लिए कुछ हिन्दी गाने भी सारणी में डाल दो …

8. Namrata - March 18, 2008

I am not a huge Rock follower but I am glad I know 5 songs on that list. Irrespective of the guitar quality I think Bohemian Rhapsody is one of the best written songs of all time. Keep blogging!

9. Himank - March 18, 2008

Havnt heard the Satriani stuff!! Otherwise all r gr8 and I cant compare solos as such!! And glad to find a band named BEATLES dere!! 😛

10. subbu - March 18, 2008

great collection..november rain is great and so are all satriani stuff
hey den i have started blogging too.. i have even put a link to your blog on mine..
do drop in @ http://www.smaran-smartdude.blogspot.com

11. pankajsaini - March 20, 2008

great list…. i’ve listened to almost of them…. with a few exceptions…… and i agree with your choice….. but ‘smoke on the water’ would be high up in my list 🙂

12. Phani Chaitanya - March 20, 2008

huuu big list … i haven’t listened to all of them but I do like some of them though I really don’t dote for rock music … Guns n Roses , Pink floyd , Rhapsody rock the rock !!

13. yogesh - March 22, 2008

Most f ’em in the list were new to me,….. its delight to hear ’em.

14. Priya - March 28, 2008

AMAZING list.

Joe Sat is GOD !! G3 Rocks !!
‘n ….Jimmy page, Slash, Vai … Whoaa !!

Most of my favourites !! 😀

Rock Rules !!

A-men !!


Leave a Reply

