jump to navigation

Terror Struck! September 15, 2007

Posted by Karan in General.
trackback

Last week, my dad was here in Hyderabad. I had a good day with him, and was returning back with a host of goodies he had brought for me. All of it was stuffed in a bag which was carrying along. I decided to board the MMTS train from Nampally to Lingampalli. The train was scheduled to leave at 1735 hours. I looked at my watch – there were ten minutes to go for the departure. I decided to get out of the train and get myself a magazine, leaving my bag behind in the compartment. I looked around but couldn’t find a vendor. I decided to take a stroll, looking for a bookstall. At a distance, I caught up with the latest India Today. I picked it up and started going back towards the train. Meanwhile, the train started to move, albeit a little early. I dashed and caught up with my compartment. As I breezed into it, I was startled by what I saw at the place I was sitting. The man who was sitting in front of me was about to throw away my bag. The others around him were urging him on with an unmistakable look of terror on their faces. I immediately stopped the guy. Staring at me, the doubting Thomas said, “Jamana badal gaya hai ji. Hamari to jaan nikal rahi thi. Aap apna bag aise kaise chod ke chale gaye?” I looked around and found everyone staring at me. I had to do some explaining as to how there was nothing suspicious in the bag and all. Only then did the passenegers breath easy.

This is what a couple of terrorist attacks can do to a city. To Hyd’s credit, citizens have remained resilient – but the unfortunate thing is that the terrorists have succeeded at what they’ve set out for – a new fear has set in everywhere.

Comments»

1. Vijay - September 16, 2007

Hi

We have been informing the travellers of the MMTS to be alert and keep a vigil on the suspicious items on the coach if it is unattended. Moreover, we have been telling them to keep their belongings with them and not to keep it anywhere in the overhead bins or so, since it could create suspicion among the other travellers. This measures are needed since there is a vulnerability for MMTS.

Hope you understand about the situation and i request you not to leave your baggage and go since this might lead to unnecessary confusion as it did. Please pass this info to ur friends also.

thanks

2. abbulugadu - September 16, 2007

haha … karan the terrorist lad !!! 😛

ahem! At least nothing got stolen …

3. Rakesh - September 16, 2007

this very incident tells how successful the terrorists are in their motives… terrorizing the people to their bones… 😦
btw .. Who is this Vijay guy .. seems someone from the police department…but he’s got a point .. we certainly have to be a little more careful these days…

4. Namrata - September 17, 2007

Hyderabad and its residents are going through some sort of a phase right now and it will take time before the fear subsides.I was on a bus to the college just a day after the blasts and the kind of security and caution that prevailed scared the hell out of me.Very nice post.Keep blogging!!

5. Pulkit - September 26, 2007

🙂 I find it hard to take that the fellow passengers didn’t make you open your bag and search it for suspect material !

You are right about the fear of terror that is on the upswing, among almost all of us. But then, there is a fine line between fear and caution. I would urge people to be cautious without getting panicky.


Leave a Reply

