jump to navigation

Farewell Speech April 26, 2009

Posted by Karan in IIIT centric.
Tags: ,
trackback

This is the text of my farewell speech yesterday:

18th July, 2006. I took the letter in my hand and looked at its contents. Tears slowly trickled down my eyes as I walked towards my room. Terrible thoughts gushed through my mind. What had I done to deserve this? Why was this happening to me? What now? It was as if the world had come crumbling down around me..

10th February, 2008. I’d often heard of tears of a different kind, but never experienced it. But here I was, unable to hold them back, unable to stop them. It had to be the best moment of my life- a feeling which I had never experienced before. And then, the DJ played “Yaaron Dosti..

Good evening ladies and gentlemen! Respected director sir, dean sir and other professors, and my dear friends. I am standing here to talk about what defines our batch.

In the first incident, when I had broken down in my room, the entire batch had gathered in the basketball court to show solidarity. While I was shattered, they had decided to take collective responsibility for our actions, who were caught in the ragging case. Having never seen something like this before, I was truly touched at the unity and benevolence shown back then.

On 10th February, 2008; when the song was played, everyone had come together in a circle to celebrate. After all, this is what Felicity stand for- building trusts and relationships and celebrating it with the same spirit. It was not just about proving comments like, “Yours is a useless batch- You can’t do this” etc wrong, rather far from it. It was about the consonance and harmony which we were able to achieve. A mail from one of my seniors summed it up beautifully. It read, “I have never witnessed this kind of energy or spirit permeating the entire campus.” From Felicity, what else could we have asked for?

When I look back at these moments today, I see that in the depths of despair and the heights of happiness, we’ve all been together. I know that my batch was always with me; and so it must be the case with many of us.

When we muffed up during the batch trip, people did not throw stones, but accepted whatever we had with a smile and tried to work around it. When somebody wanted to stand for a post, people only encouraged him.

If there is one thing which we’d take back from Jeevan Vidya, it’ll be the point about trusting others intentions and not judging them by their actions. Good relationships, both within the students and with the faculty has been the bedrock of whatever we’ve done. If we were told that Felicity was always full of skirmishes with everyone, we tried to build bridges. So what if we don’t blog about the issues we have, we always go and sort them out.

We have faced so many issues as a batch- changes being brought about, admin issues like hostels, a recession during placements, but we’ve been together in all this.

As Aniket rightly pointed out in his blog, we were never brilliant or exceptional, but we’ve built from scratch. Be it not having touched a computer to reaching the ACM finals and becoming the system administrator; or never having seen a basketball to breaking into the college team. Improvement and excellence in our fields through collective learning is what we’ve looked for.

The great Baha’u’llah had once said that, “So powerful is the light of unity that it can illuminate the entire world”. I dare speak in behalf of my batch that this should be our legacy. I sincerely hope and pray that our juniors ensure that.

I take this opportunity to thank our juniors for having walked shoulder to shoulder as equals in all our endeavors. I’d thank the faculty for having placed their trust in us.

Two weeks from now, we’re going to be missing all this. As I stand here for the final time in my college life, I just have two clichéd words for my batch. Thank you.

Comments»

1. rohit - April 26, 2009

Awesome [:)]

2. Gaurav - April 26, 2009

Nice ! All the best.

3. Abhilash I - April 26, 2009

“So powerful is the light of unity that it can illuminate the entire world”. This is something that i will take a note of.

I would really want to hear the speech again in your voice. Btw, was there any video recording done ?

Karan - April 26, 2009

No official video recording :( Not sure if someone among the students did it.

Maruti Borker - April 27, 2009

Ganjez ko bol detaz :(

4. atul - April 26, 2009

Maroo bhai.. speech was awesome…. as always :)

5. Sanket Sharma - April 26, 2009

A good speech indeed. I believe our content of speeches were orthogonal to each other, despite the fear to have redundancy. I read it again. Very well written as if while writing tum bhavnao mai beh gaye the.

6. Maruti Borker - April 27, 2009

Speech was really awesome :)

7. Himank Sharma - April 29, 2009

Bhai awesome speech thi….
Main wahan baitha baitha senti ho raha tha
Kudos to you man!! :)

Cheers to UG2K5…

8. Sugandha - April 29, 2009

Nice but farewell speech by a graduating student? :-o

Does very1 in ur college gets a chance to speak on Farewell or you were the topper or secy or something like that?

Karan - April 30, 2009

Yep, we have students delivering farewell speeches. Generally, its people active in different domains of college life :)

9. Karan - April 30, 2009

Thanks guys, was pretty senti and all while delivering the speech :)

10. kannavamshi - August 27, 2009

Hey Karan, I liked your speech very much. The speech organization, choice of words, rhetorical devices and on top of it Emotion. People who listened to your speech are lucky to have got inspired.

Once during my final year of post-graduation, i.e., on Jan 26, 2006 i heard your speech during our republic day celebrations. That speech was awesome, where i found that passion, energy, enthusiasm, patriotism, etc., long way to go dude.

Karan - August 28, 2009

Thanks a lot bro. Feels great to be appreciated and remembered for something :)

11. Angad - September 4, 2009

Awsome !!!

12. pandu - December 11, 2009

Awsome,excellent…..

13. rashmi - February 23, 2010

well it was a gret speech,thanks i got an idea about how ishold start a speech but not end it

14. dixita - March 11, 2010

no thanks for silly speech

Shweta_k - April 15, 2010

Reallllllllllyyyyyyyyyyyy a gud speech.

15. shikha - April 16, 2010

good yaar
try to improve a little man…………
was too monotonous

16. Sofia - July 3, 2010

hey great n inspiring speech!!!!
hope i’l get chance to speak out sumthin at d end of my college days!!!

17. jigar doshi - August 27, 2010

superb

18. kashmira jain - January 24, 2011

the best one i feel

19. rakesh - February 12, 2011

faltu hai

20. brundabun majhi - February 12, 2011

mat likna warna marenge *####3

21. SOHAIL SHEIKH - February 13, 2011

AWESOME DUDE

22. chaithanya - February 16, 2011

gud!!1

23. Bhupendra Bule. - February 18, 2011

Mind Blowing speech yar…

24. bibek kumar - February 25, 2011

Bro ur speech is gilded with deep feelings.cmng from the aces of ur heart.really tear trickling speech it is. its ur feelings u put before which only a few can do.
mind blowwing brother

25. Aditi Chawla - February 27, 2011

loved it..

26. anoosh - March 22, 2011

your speech is so worst that it has no literary meaning

27. ratan - March 24, 2011

excellent

28. angilly - March 29, 2011

very nice!!!
good writing

29. sahithya - April 13, 2011

it’s not a writing i know that it’s feeling am studying 3rd btech my college days will have an end with an year …..i 2.. feel the same …now my lord my frnds as closer to me……

30. sanjeev - April 16, 2011

superb yaar………..no words 2 say,,,,,

31. Chetan Rajgor - April 16, 2011

Fantastic…. Outstanding…

32. mohammed kaleem - April 24, 2011

great does it really works

33. Ataur Rahman - May 1, 2011

very good

34. Sanjukta - December 9, 2011

I liked your speech very much…:-)

35. Midhat Rahman - December 26, 2011

amazing, marvelous!!!!!

36. MISHA - January 11, 2012

FABULOUS!!!!

37. honey..... - January 12, 2012

inspiring speech really…

38. Priya cool - February 7, 2012

not very nice but ok
i can write better………..:P(jj)

39. Priya cool - February 7, 2012

not vry good
i can wrte a better1 myself

40. Priya cool - February 7, 2012

:)

41. eesha - February 8, 2012

wer’s ur speech..?

42. Vraj Patel - February 9, 2012

hi all of yu

43. k2171611 - February 13, 2012

great yaar

44. NEETA - February 16, 2012

SUPERB YAAR

45. IRFAN VOHRA - March 8, 2012

THANX & VERY SPIRITUAL & ENERGETIC THOUGHTS…..I LIKE IT THE MOST.AS I WAS READING MY EYES FELT WITH TEARS JUST B’COS I M MISSING MY SCHOOL & COLLEGE DAYS…& ALL THOSE HAPPY MOMENTS WHICH I HAD LEFT BEHIND…..BEING AN MECHANICAL ENGG.I FEEL PROUD THAT THERE R SOME PPL STILL..,WHO LOVE THEIR SCHOOL ,COLLEGE & EVEN RESPECT THEIR TEACHERS……THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN…..BY IRFAN VOHRA, MECH.ENGG., (MAINTENANCE IN-CHARGE),BARODA-GUJARAT………..”BE A PART OF MEMORIES…..”!

46. Asrar - March 28, 2012

It was not only the speech man…. its something which any one can relate to their life… senti…. nice speech!!!

Flash back…. oohhh my eyes wet…. very happy and missin all dayz with friendzzz…… :-(

47. RESHMA - April 2, 2012

hey can u help me out????

48. sweety pandey - April 25, 2012

i am going to give farewell speech tomorrow ,,,hope i dont get emotional in front of oll,,,by d way beautifull pool of expression in ur speach

49. Mathias - June 6, 2012

Very good speech, i used yours as an inspiration for my own farewell speech.

- Mathias

50. Mayuri Narkar - December 24, 2012

:/ :( not a gud 1 want more interesting speech

51. Mayuri Narkar - December 24, 2012

But its okAy! emotional speech

52. Nikhil - February 22, 2013

Awsm buddy! This speech has the selection of good words tat were all superior to the stage……

53. insurance day - March 23, 2013

I was suggested this website by means of my cousin. I am not certain whether or not
this submit is written by way of him as nobody else realize such
detailed approximately my trouble. You’re incredible! Thank you!

54. Mrbidet.Info - April 20, 2013

I’m not sure exactly why but this web site is loading extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still
exists.

55. top 100 songs - April 22, 2013

Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It in reality used to be
a entertainment account it. Glance complex to more delivered agreeable from you!

By the way, how could we keep in touch?

56. loan a kindle book - May 5, 2013

Hola! I’ve been following your site for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the excellent job!

57. auto parts - May 5, 2013

What’s up mates, how is all, and what you would like to say concerning this article, in my view its actually awesome in support of me.

58. autocad 2013 - May 5, 2013

Hello, Neat post. There is a problem with your website in web explorer, would check this?
IE still is the marketplace chief and a good component to people will miss
your wonderful writing because of this problem.

59. best actress 2013 favorite - May 16, 2013

Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my
myspace group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Cheers

60. loan amortization - May 16, 2013

Every weekend i used to go to see this web site, as i want enjoyment, as
this this web site conations really nice funny information too.

61. vietnam adventure tour - September 26, 2013

I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem.
You’re wonderful! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

